Introducing Molly Ann Nagelli…a Livonia Mom

0

Introducing yourself is an awkward process. It consists of sharing information about yourself that is personal but not too private.  As a Bipolar individual, I am, by default, prone to over-sharing, and as a writer, I find the more information about myself I disclose, the more other people really relate to what I am writing about. 

So here it goes…

I am Molly Ann Nagelli, a stay-at-home wife and mother. I met my husband Satish in 2011, and we married in December of that same year, weathering storms and sunshine together ever since. We have three daughters Lily (5), Eliza Rose (3), and Daisy (22 months). We live in Livonia. My husband is a doctor, educated overseas, so he is in the process of applying to medical programs here to repeat some of his schooling in order to practice medicine in the United States.

I am passionate about maternal mental wellness. I have Bipolar Disorder, and I have struggled greatly in my life with my mental and physical health. In the process, I have learned coping mechanisms that help me stay balanced and functional in the chaos of having three girls ages five and under.

I am looking forward to sharing my journey even though it has been a bumpy ride for me. I almost didn’t make it past my 25th birthday. At age 25, I contracted a near fatal heart condition that left me with a brain anoxic injury. I woke up in early December of 2005 unable to walk, talk, or eat solid food. It was a rough couple of weeks to say the least. I made enough progress to be discharged from the University of Michigan Hospital the week before Christmas of 2005. I continued my rehabilitation outpatient. It took six months of physical, occupational, and speech therapy, but I was ready to return to Henry Ford Community College the following fall to finish pursuing my associate degree in liberal arts. I reached my goal in May of 2012.

To say that I found a sense of purpose with motherhood would be an understatement.

I believe that God saved me in 2005, so that I would live long enough to become a mother to my three amazing girls. I have always loved to write. In my teens and early 20s, I wrote poetry. My physical and mental health kept me from pursuing a meaningful career path in my youth. 

My father is Irish and one of nine siblings. I have more first cousins and second cousins than I can keep track of. We keep in touch through social media and try to get together at family reunions in Michigan. I am very proud of my Irish heritage. I represented the Irish Community in my early 20s on the Court of St. Brigid and the Maid of Erin (now Queen of the United Irish Societies) pageants. I hope to teach my girls both their Irish and Indian heritages and stay active in the community.

Also worth mentioning, I am a graduate of Mercy High School, class of 1998.  The memories I made during high school are some of my fondest; they were some of the happiest years of my life.

I am so excited to be a part of this DMB community. I am looking forward to sharing more of what my experiences have been as I navigate motherhood since that’s how we build our villages in today’s world: through sharing our stories we hold each other up, and light the way for those who are struggling. I look forward to interacting with readers and other moms in this great community.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.